I’ve been having a bit of a career/life direction crisis lately. The fact that a number of my friends are becoming accomplished in their careers and a few more are pregnant and growing their families is probably part of it. Don’t get me wrong – I’m wildly happy for my friends and their successes. But it has sparked some internal reflection. 

Of course, I remind myself that I have a lot to be thankful for. A husband I adore (and who, most days, feels the same); a house we’re slowly making a home together; wonderful friends and family who love, support and put up with me; a job with benefits in “these economic times”; etc. But these things also afford me the luxury of worrying about Where I’m Going as I approach the big 3-0 (T minus 1 year, 9 months, 19 days…).

After we had spent literally hours going over my life direction, the options out there for me and what I should do next, Joe gave me some words of wisdom:

Life is like a parade going through a downtown street. You could be leading the parade, you could be in the parade, you could be watching the parade from the sidelines, you could have heard about the parade but decided to stay home, or you could not even know the parade is going on at all. It’s up to you to decide which person you want to be.

I thought about that for a minute and then, deciding to be cheeky, I turned to him and asked “okay, but what if I want to be one of those girls in the parade who sits on a float and waves regally as everyone fawns all over her? How do I do that?”

